Juicy Couture Takes Charles James Inspiration?

Taking a flip through an old magazine the other day and this Juicy Couture ad popped out at me.  I’m an avid fan of comparing originals and remixes, although usually in music.

My favorite discovery is of an old favorite, Nuthin’ But a G Thang by Dr. Dre and Snoop Dog.  I mean come on, the song is a classic, it’s been around since 1992 – 17 YEARS AGO!  It wasn’t until about 6 years ago that I discovered the original I Wanna Do Something Freaky to You by Leon Haywood.  It was a mind blowing day.  Go ahead, I linked the two songs via blip.fm for an easy listen.

Does the Juicy ad campaign look familiar?  Perhaps from a certain photo from the lovely Charles James collection?   I can appreciate the edgier take on the classic.  More often than not, the campaigns from Juicy offer a fantastic and fantasy driven view of fashion.  Their use of candy coated color palettes while maintaining current silhouettes in classic patterns lends itself to a young approach to life that any age can appreciate.  I do wish the set up had been more dramatic – either in depth and grace of the set and the models – or the exact opposite – a more cartoon-y and over the top scene, bigger skirts and bright makeup.    What do you think?  Am I just completely biased on the CJ photo, so elegant and perfect in every way?  Or did JC fall short of the (very high) bar Charles James set?

Leave a Reply

